top of page

Inside the Atelier 

This is a series of workshops on the craft of qualitative research.  Join our mailing list or follow us on Twitter or LinkedIn to receive sign up information for our events. 

 

We welcome suggestions for workshops! Please note that we plan well ahead and we are a team of volunteers, so it might take time before we can incorporate any ideas.  In organizing our activities, we strive to follow our ethos, treasure diversity, and be inclusive of various approaches and profiles. 

Upcoming workshops

26 September 2023, 15:30 - 17:00 CEST / 9:30 - 11:00 ED

Qualitative Methods Help Desk: B.Y.O.Q. (Bring Your Own Questions)

Sarah Kaplan

Rotman School of Management

Arvind Karunakaran

Stanford University

Daniel-Beunza_edited.jpg

31 October 2023, 10:30am EDT / 3:30pm CET / 2:30pm GMT

At Home Ethnography for Organizational Change: The Case of UK Financial Services

Daniel Beunza

Bayes Business School

4085.jpg

21 November 2023, 8:30am EST / 2:30pm CET

Two Heads are Better Than One: The Magic of Collaboration in Conducting and Analyzing Interviews

Erin Reid

DeGroote School of Business, McMaster University 

Lakshmi Ramarajan

Harvard Business School

27 February 2024, 5pm CET / 8am PST / 11am EST

Writing a Review Article: Conversation with Authors and Editor

Marya Besharov

Saïd Business School, University of Oxford

Giada Baldessarelli

Stockholm School of Economics

Pedro Monteiro

Copenhaguen Business School

image001.jpg

23 April 23 2024, 10am EST / 4pm CET

Cultivating Discovery in Our Theorizing

Karen Golden-Biddle

Questrom School of Business, Boston University

Past workshops

Ashley Mears.jpeg
Josh Seim.png
Pat Reilly.jpeg

April 25 at 11am EST / 5pm CET

Observant Participation: Roles, Risks, Rewards

Ashley Mears

Professor at Boston University

Josh Seim

Assistant Professor at Boston College

Pat Reilly

Assistant Professor at UBC Sauder School of Business

AndyHargadon.jpeg
Daniel Wadhwani.png

28 March 2023, 8am PST / 5pm CET

From What Happened, To What Happens: Microhistorical Analysis in Management Research

Andrew Hargadon

UC Davis Graduate School of Management

Daniel Wadhwani

USC Marshall School of Business

Martha_Kathrin.jpg

28 February 2023, 5pm CET / 8am PST

Doing Domain Analysis

Martha Feldman

University of California, Irvine

Kathrin Sele

Aalto University, School of Business

Ninna Meier.jpeg

23 January 2023, 9-10:30 EST / 15-16:30 CET

Craft & quality in academic writing

Ninna Meier

Aalborg University

download.jfif

29 November 2022, 9-10:30 EST (15-16:30 CET) 

Process Research Methods

Hans Berends

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

kaplan-headshot-june 2016 - cropped .jpg

25 October, 9-10:30 EST (15-16:30 CET)

Moving from data to analysis to manuscript

Sarah Kaplan

Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto

Charis Asante-Agyei
erickson ingrid

27 September 2022, 12-13:30 EST (18-19:30 CET) 

Intersecting Methods: Amplifying Participant Reflexivity by Combining Diaries and Interviews

Melissa Mazmanian
Margaret Jack

Charis Asante-Agyei and Ingrid Erickson

Syracuse University’s School of Information Studies

Melissa Mazmanian

University of California, Irvine

Margaret Jack

Digital Life Initiative at Cornell Tech

Ruthanne pic.jpg

22 March 2022, 15-16:30 CET

Ethnographic Fieldnotes

9-27-2012-9-Edit - cropped.jpg

Ruthanne Huising

emlyon business school

Susan Silbey

MIT

charlotte_cloutier.jpg

19 October 2021, 11-12:30 EST (17-18:30 CET)

Writing and reflexivity: A way forward to better and more productive writing in academia

Charlotte Cloutier

HEC Montréal

Eliana Crosina.jpg

23 September 2021, 11-12:30 EST (17-18:30 CEST)

Writing a monograph dissertation in a business school

Julia DiBenigno.jpg
Madeline Toubiana.jpg

Eliana Crosina

Babson College

Julia DiBenigno

Yale School of Management

Madeline Toubiana

Alberta School of Business

mmpereira.jpg

9 June 2021, 10am EST/ 16h CET

Translating the field:
qualitative research across languages

Maria Do Mar Pareira

University of Warwick

Prof_Lisa_mcgill_desautels_1762_v1_tz co

20 April 2021, 9am EST/ 15h CET

The Art of Reviewing:
Constructing Constructive Reviews

Lisa E. Cohen

McGill University

bottom of page